Log in
Log in

Society of
General physiologists

Junior Faculty Network

SGP-JGP Junior Faculty Network

We are no longer accepting applications for the 2024 Network. Please check back in the Fall of 2024 for the 2025 application.

Starting a new lab and trying to navigate your science, papers, grants, and institutional duties? 

Want to meet people in the same situation and connect with established scientists who can their perspectives?


The Junior Faculty Networking matches up to nine junior faculty with a member of  Journal of General Physiology's Editorial Advisory Board for quarterly group discussions. Each discussion begins with a topic of relevance, such as selecting and managing personnel, financial management, and collaborating wisely. The remaining time is devoted to topics chosen by the participants.

The network leader is a senior scientist who will contribute sage advice and act as a sounding board for ideas. Junior faculty who participate will also benefit from mentoring each other. Network members are also invited to attend the annual JGP Editorial Board Meeting.

2024 Network Leader

Dr. Janice L. Robertson
Associate Professor, Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biophysics
Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis


  • Foster our community of physiologists by addressing the needs of junior faculty in the first stage of their independent careers.
  • Demystify the hidden curriculum that junior faculty face when creating labs and research programs.
  • Offer a support network of peers and leading experts with shared trajectories to create a sense of support that adds to individuals’ resilience and sense of purpose.


  • Must be a current member of the Society of General Physiologists. See for details.
  • Must have accepted a first independent position at an academic or research institution to start within the next year
    OR be within three years of starting an independent position.
  • Applicants who have been an author on a paper in JGP within the last 5 years will receive priority.

    We are no longer accepting applications for the 2024 Network. Please check back in the Fall of 2024 for the 2025 application.

Past Networks

2021 Network

Sudha Chakrapani
Joseph T. Wearn, MD University Professor in Medicine
Director, Cryo-Electron Microscopy Core
Director, Cleveland Center for Membrane and Structural Biology
Case Western Reserve University

Junior Faculty:

  • Sandipan Chowdhury, University of Iowa, USA
  • Gucan (Gabriel) Dai, Saint Louis University, USA
  • Hugo Alves Figueiredo, Tecnologico de Monterrey, Mexico
  • Joel C. Rosenbaum, University of Pittsburgh, USA
  • David Sauer, University of Oxford, England
  • Appu Singh, Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur, India

2020 Network

Rajini Rao Director, Graduate Program in Cellular and Molecular Medicine
Professor of Physiology, Johns Hopkins Medicine

Junior Faculty:

  • Melinda Engevik, Medical University of South Carolina
  • Wayland Cheng, Washington University
  • Grace Muller, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
  • Osama Harraz, University of Vermont
  • Thirumalini Vaithianathan, University of Tennessee Health Science Center
  • Stefano Morotti, University of California Davis
  • Daniel Collier, University of Tennessee Health Science Center
  • Vivek Garg, University of Maryland Baltimore

    2019 Network

    Robert J. French, PhD Professor, Department of Physiology & Pharmacology
    Cumming School of Medicine, University of Calgary

    Junior Faculty:

    • Victor De la Rosa, Universidad Autonoma de San Luis Potosi
    • Daniel Johnson, The Open University, United Kingdom
    • Claudia Moreno, University of Washington
    • Michael Puljung, University of Oxford
    • Oscar Vivas, University of Washington

      2018 Network

      William N. Zagotta, PhD JGP Editorial Advisory Board Member
      The University of Washington

      Junior Faculty:

      • Thirumalini Vaithianathan, University of Tennessee Health Science Center
      • Linlin Ma, Flinders University
      • David Jones, University of Michigan
      • Kazuharu Furutani, University of California Davis
      • Karen Mruk, University of Wyoming
      • Josep Font Sadurni, University of Sydney
      • Christian Peters, University of California, San Francisco
      • Igor Vorobyov, University of California, Davis
      • Isaac GarcĂ­a Carrillo, Universidad de Valparaiso, Chile

        2017 Network

        Mark Nelson, PhD JGP Editorial Advisory Board Member
        The University of Vermont, College of Medicine

        Junior Faculty:

        • Aurelia Honerkamp-Smith, Lehigh University
        • Eric Senning, University of Washington
        • Elaine Wan, Columbia University
        • Ainara Vallejo, Biodonostia Health Research Institute
        • Ivy Dick, University of Maryland
        • David MacLean, University of Rochester

        Richard W. Aldrich, PhD
        JGP Associate Editor
        The University of Texas at Austin

        Junior Faculty:

        • Ruhma Syeda, The University of Texas Southwestern
        • Manu Ben Johny, Johns Hopkins University
        • Fan Yang, Zhejiang University
        • Medha M. Pathak, The University of California, Irvine
        • Jerome Lacroix, Western University of Health Sciences
        • Changhoon Jee, The University of Tennessee Health Science Center

        Gail Robertson, PhD
        JGP Editorial Advisory Board Member
        University of Wisconsin-Madison

        Junior Faculty:

        • Nathan Tykocki, University of Vermont
        • Hannah R. Malcolm, University of North Florida
        • Jamie Spangler, Johns Hopkins University
        • Lydia Nausch, Nuremberg Hospital Medical School
        • Ivana Kuo, Loyola University Chicago

        Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software